Nursing Honor Society Selects Kathryn Lee for International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

March 2013Diana Austin

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), the international nursing honor society, has named the School of Nursing’s Kathryn Lee – professor and associate dean for research, James and Marjorie Livingston Endowed Chair in Nursing, and director of the Nursing Research Training Program in Symptom Management – to its International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. The honor recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves.

Lee’s research focuses on women’s health, with an emphasis on sleep patterns, and she has authored more than 150 publications on sleep and women’s health. She is the recipient of numerous awards for her work, including the University of Washington School of Nursing’s Distinguished Research Award (2006) and the Helen Nahm Research Lecture Award from UCSF (2004). Lee has also twice been recognized by UCSF for her mentorship of future nurse researchers, receiving the School’s Mentor of the Year Award in 1996 and 2001.

“Kathy Lee has not only produced groundbreaking research on sleep; she has made it accessible to clinicians, patients and their families,” says Dean David Vlahov of UCSF School of Nursing. “She has successfully translated her research into practice, developing and promoting interventions that address sleep issues – and taken her expertise and passion another step by encouraging and engaging students and junior faculty toward their careers in research. This award is richly deserved, and we at UCSF are proud of her and this honor.”

Since its inception in 2010, the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame has inducted 51 nurse researchers, including UCSF’s Marylin Dodd (professor emerita in the Department of Physiological Nursing) and William Holzemer (professor emeritus and former chair of the Department of Community Health Systems). In July 2013, Lee will join 18 other nurse researchers for an induction ceremony at STTI’s 24th International Nursing Research Congress in Prague, Czech Republic.